Bad minimalist!

I’m such a bad minimalist right now, someone should slap my fingers and put me in time out!

Nah, perhaps not. I’m a grown-up and I get to tweak my minimalism however I want to. It’s just that buying two new sofas and a new rug might not be what I pictured myself doing this year. Also, buying a new bookcase for my daughter’s room so that she can put her things somewhere kind of wasn’t on my to do-list either. But that’s what we’ve done this weekend.

Starting with my daughter, I’ve really tried to make her throw away some of her things, but I don’t feel like forcing her, so to keep some kind of order, we switched her room for her brother’s yesterday so that she could get some proper closets. The girl inherits clothes from her older cousins and they are overflowing her room! I did manage to 86 her room while she wasn’t at home though, so I’m pretty pleased with myself. (I actually threw/gave away 91 things, and I doubt she’ll notice…) Now her room looks perfect, and her brother’s room is crazy neat!

About the sofas that will be delivered on Tuesday, I don’t have anything to say for myself other than that the old one gave me back problems and I gave it to my sister as a Christmas gift. We all win, kind of. And the new sofas also are a result of this minimalist thing, because for the first time ever, I’m paying for them in cash and not credit. I’m actually pretty proud of myself.

Anyways. We have a box of stuff out the door, two suitcases, a chair and a hula hoop too, one bag of clothes to give away and one to throw away. It’s been a good weekend!

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in family, home, Minimalism, Shopping, Simplifying and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bad minimalist!

  1. Sounds great! Congratulations for a productive minimalist weekend! The new couches sound carefully chosen so no have no guilt 🙂

  2. simplernow says:

    Good minimalist! The point is to have what you love and use then lose the excess. Sounds like the new couches fit the bill. Anyway, not for others to judge.

Leave a Reply

