Helping out?

I pride myself with the fact that I ”get it”. I may not always be good at it, but I get why I am doing this. The simple living and minimalism. So I try to spread the word as much as I can without pushing it down anyone’s throat. And people who come to visit me in my home see that there isn’t an abundance of stuff. Some are impressed and feel inspired, others feel a bit disturbed, I think, by the empty spaces.

Before Christmas I had a neighbor over for coffee. Her kids and mine play with each other quite a bit and I think that she’s a bit lonely, so even though I don’t see us as friends (we have nothing in common and she’s a big talker – I’m not), I try and spend some time with her every now and then when I feel up to it. She came over for coffee and was impressed by how everything was in order in my kitchen, which is identical to hers. She told me she would get a new kitchen in February, and would I help her get it decluttered and organized? I have missed decluttering so bad these last couple of months, I am happy to help if I can, so I said yes and have just spent two evenings helping her with her kitchen.

But. She doesn’t get it.

We have filled three boxes with kitchen supplies to give away, and thrown away three bags of stuff. She still has way too much, but as I said, I’m not the one deciding, I’m just there for a bit of moral support (and really, I just think she needs someone to talk to, she doesn’t even listen to my replies anyway). I would be very happy if this was the end result – she is looking at all the things in her kitchen, shaking her head saying it’s too much, throwing away something she doesn’t like or need.

But. Then she hands me ten egg cups, says “give these away, I don’t need them, I’m going to buy some new ones.”. And that’s what happens with most of the things she hands over. She doesn’t get it and I am not one to tell people what to do, so I just smile a bit. 

I’m not sure if I’m helping, or enabling a way of living that is nothing at all the way I have chosen to live. Either way, she was happy, and I got to declutter….

Photo of a photo by Christian Åslund

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Cleaning, Minimalism, Simplifying and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Helping out?

  1. She hasn’t reached a wake up call yet. Some people never do.

  2. MaggieMay says:

    She might just be the materialistic type and needs a reason to buy something new.
    We cleaned out our kitchen before Christmas, the stuff we threw out has stayed out. New items have been added, but nothing similar to what was thrown out (it was actually things we needed!).

Leave a Reply

