Books books books!

Since I last posted about books, I’ve been working away on my to read-list. I won’t call my post reviews, because that would be far from true. If you want to read what the books are about, go to Goodread, or goole them, because my posts are some kind of book opinion, or log, and may not inspire anyone to read anything.

However that may be, I have been reading! I’ve read books that I enjoyed a lot (Cathedral of the Sea by Ildefonso Falcones, Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta), book that was okay (The Last Runaway by Tracy Chavalier, The Dead of Night by John Marsden, Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell, The Little Prince by Antoine de Saint-Exupéry), and books that I really didn’t like, or even hated (Four: A Divergent Story Collection by Veronica Roth, The Trial by Franz Kafka, The Virgin Blue by Tracy Chevalier). Here’s a short compilation of my thoughts on the books.

#1. A book with more than 500 pages – Falcones
A thick book set in Barcelona during the 1300’s, could it get any better? Yes it could, because I think there´s too much happening in this book. I’ve read some reviews where people say they don’t like Cathedral of the Sea because it is too slow, but I think that Falcones is trying to cram too much into one book, and that’s what makes me not give it the highest rating. I still liked it a lot because I love historic novels and I’d love to go to Barcelona (even more so after reading the book!), but it just fell short as the credibility was lost when the main character climbed and fell so fast on the social ladder. Still, I think you should read it!

#5. A book with a number in the title – Roth
Oh man. Why did I ever pick this up? I was sort of in a funk and needed something quick to read, but I just wish I hadn’t picked this book, because I loved Divergent and now I feel like perhaps I didn’t love it, but that is probably because this book sucked so much. I don’t think seeing the story from Four’s perspective added anything at all, it rather made me dislike him instead of liking him more. So if you ever feel the urge to sink further into the world of Divergent, don’t read this book.

#9. A book by a female author – Chevalier (The Virgin Blue)
I borrowed The Last Runaway from my boss, read it, and then found this book from the same author, at work in the bookshelf where people leave the books they don’t want anymore. Let’s just say that I get it. This is not a keeper. It isn’t bad, it’s just not good. The main character Ella is kind of off-putting, and she’s supposed to be the person you like, which makes it difficult to like the book, even though I like the history of Isabelle, who I’d love to learn more about but didn’t get enough of. And once again I have learned the lesson (or have I?) that one shouldn’t read books from the same author back to back.

#11. A book with a one word title – Rowell
I remember wanting to read this book ever since I read Eleanor & Park, so when I found it at the library (as I was roaming the YA-fiction section, of course) I took it home with me and had high hopes. I must say I was a bit disappointed. I liked the parts of the book that was the story, but I wasn’t thrilled with the Simon Snow bits, which I just browsed through real quick. Skimming a book is never a good sign, I think, but I still liked the other parts, so, yeah, I put it on my okay-list.

#13. A book set in a different country – Marsden
Twelve years ago I read the first of the seven books in the Tomorrow-series, for a class in youth literature that I took at the university. I remember thinking it was exciting and I wanted to read the whole series, but then I didn’t. Now I’ve read number two and it was okay. Not as mind blowing as I remember the first one to be, though. Will I read the rest? Yes, probably. But not right now. Will I recommend the book for my children in a couple of years? Yes, probably.

#17. A book a friend recommended – Chevalier (The Last Runaway)
One of the things I like about my new job is that my boss, a woman in her early sixties, is lending me books that I think I would never read otherwise. I like the historic setting of this one, and I liked that I got to read something new, since I have a tendency to get stuck reading the same genres (young adult fiction) and the same authors over and over again.

#27. A book you can finish in a day – Saint-Exupéry
One of my friends gave me this book a couple of years ago because it’s one of her favorites. After reading Falcones, I needed something short, and thought, okay, I guess it’s a children’s book with some deep meaning to it, I’ll give it a go. (also, I had in mind that it would fit under #27, so that’s another reason why I chose it at the time) If I were to analyze the book I would probably find a lot of meaning in it (some parts were more obvious than others), but since I’m no longer working as a teacher and really don’t want to analyze things at the moment, I just thought it was an okay book. I will however read it to my children at some point, discussing it with them and trying to find out what they think about when we read it. I think that’ll be very interesting. But as of now, I just don’t see how this is someone’s favorite book.

#36. A book set in high school – Marchetta
My favorite book so far this year. Another YA-fiction, but let’s face it, I’ll probably never get too old for these books. I hope not, anyway. I looooooved On the Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta, and I loved Saving Francesca. I just love Marchetta and the way she writes. Why is this book different from many other YA-novels, then. I guess because the characters seem real, and that there’s nothing unnecessary in the stories, which is the deal with many other YA-novels. And the language seem to just flow. Don’t be surprised if I write about at least one more Marchetta book this year…

#50. A book you started but never finished – Kafka
Oh, how I hate this book. I started reading it before, but the layout of it kept me from finishing it. I gave it another try because it fit on my reading list; it was the perfect choice for #50, and because “everyone” says Kafka is a genius, so of course you need to read something by him.

After reading this pointless book, I felt two things. Either I am stupid for not understanding the greatness of it, or I am not stupid but am supposed to feel stupid because I don’t like it. I think I get the book, I just don’t see why it’s great. I’ve read reviews of people who also think that the book suck, and I’ve read the comments to those reviews, where other people say that just because you don’t like the book, you don’t get it. This makes me a bit upset. Am I not allowed to not like a book just because it’s written by a “genius”? Bah! I say that sometimes people say they like books because they are written by a “genius”, but they don’t get it more than anyone else, they just claim that they do to seem smarter. Um, yes, sucky books make me angry.

The end.

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Book Challenge 2015, books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Books books books!

  1. Pingback: Looking back at the books – Moving forward

Leave a Reply

