Reading my way through spring

Time for a book post, I think! The plan is to read myself out of books at home, but this time I’ve borrowed two books from friends and then read one of my daughter’s books, and she has somehow inherited the love of owning her books from “someone”, so I don’t think she’ll get rid of hers anytime soon. But, out of four books read I can at least give one away. Only thing is that I actually bought it last week to read it, so there’s still just as many books left at home. Four months into my reading challenge (to read 52 books during one year) and I’ve managed to read 21 books, and I’m happy about sticking with the challenge! The only regret I have when it comes to reading a lot is that I forget to look up and see the beauty of what’s going on in my own life.

Purple Hibiscus – Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
It is very refreshing to read about something other than the western world. Purple Hibiscus is set in Nigeria and is a story of a girl with a wealthy, and abusive, father, and how she learns about life. It is well written and easy to read, and although I know very little about African countries, it felt like I was there with the characters. This is Adichie’s debut which she wrote when she was 26 years old, and so this is my #6: a book written by someone under 30.

Svarta korpar över Villette (Martine Poirot #6) – Ingrid Hedström
#10: a mystery or thriller. I like Hedström’s books about Martine Poirot, but really, most mystery books are quite alike. This one had some Iceland in it, so yay! This is the kind of books I usually turn to on a hot summer’s day at the beach.

Slumpens bok – Åsa Lind
I read this book to my daughter, and she got it as a birthday present from a friend when she turned nine. I have chosen to put this book under #24: a book based entirely on its cover, but I’m not sure I’ll ever find a book entirely based on the cover? But okay; the main character, twelve year old Hannah, one day finds a book called “the book of chance” (or something like that). She can only read a couple of sentences at a time, but whatever she reads happens in that instance. Turns out she is “the reader”, the only one who can read the book, and as such she is very valuable to a crook who wants to become rich.

I found the plot a bit weak but my daughter liked it because she thought it was exciting. All in all a good book for younger kids, because it wasn’t shying away from subjects like death and mental illness.

Rörgast (The Öland Quartet #4) – Johan Theorin
#16: a book from an author you love that you haven’t yet read, the perfect spot for Johan Theorin, one of my favorite authors. He has written three books in a series about Öland, Sweden’s second largest island, before this one, all with the same character, an old man in his eighties called Gerlof. The three books before this one have all had supernatural elements in them, so much so that I have been scared to read them in the evenings because I’m a firm believer in ghosts and the dark is a scary place to be… My expectations were high, to say the least. And then – just a regular mystery novel. Nothing ghostly about it, and also – spelling mistakes!!! Whuuut?! It felt like this book was rushed, or forced would perhaps be a better word for it. Did Theorin not “feel it” while he was writing? Had he run out of ideas? Did his publisher rush him to get another best seller? I’m disappointed.

I’ve also read Insurgent by Veronica Roth, but that was the second time for me, so I’m not counting that one. And yes, I’m 36 years old, not 14…

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Book Challenge 2015, books and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

