Six months of Challenge

Almost six months of my reading challenge have passed and I have a few more books to add to my list. Six months should mean at least 21 books, and according to my Goodreads, I have read 26 so far. I will not count one of those books though, because it doesn’t fit anywhere on my list… Also, I guess that if I continue reading mostly YA-books, this challenge won’t be a challenge at all. I need to up my game.

But first, here are the books I’ve read lately.

Mörkersikt by Johannes Källström, was supposed to be my #22, a book that scares me, but it quite frankly didn’t scare me at all. I got it from a friend who was too scared to finish it, but it wasn’t about stuff that makes me frightened, it was mostly violent and gory, and that’s not scary (unless it would happen to me, then it would probably scare me). This book is not translated into English, and it’s just as well. It didn’t leave any lasting impressions.

I continued reading The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman, who up until now I considered one of my favorite authors. The Graveyard Book is written for children, I get that. However, I read it for me, and this time I decided that I’m done with calling Gaiman my favorite. I loved Stardust and Fragile Things and Neverwhere, but I really didn’ like Coraline or the graphic Sandman-novels, and many of the other books I’ve read have only been okay, not great. I’m not sure what made me think he was one of my favorites in the first place. Perhaps I just wanted to be as twisted as he seems to be, and perhaps I was just holding on and now I’m ready to let go? Whatever the case, I won’t be picking up any more Gaiman anytime soon. The Graveyard Book was okay, and I put it under #7, A book with non-human characters. (because, you know, ghosts and a vampire and stuff)

John Green and David Levithan – two authors that actually are my favorites – are combining their writing in Will Grayson, Will Grayson. What a great book! I won’t be counting this one though, because I don’t know where it would fit in, but I really enjoyed reading it. I don’t know why I, at 36, connect so much to the raw feelings of teenagers. It is kind of disturbing, actually. I think I need to analyze this a bit….

My #14, A non-fiction book, is the essay collection Simplicity: Essays by Joshua Fields Millburn and Ryan Nicodemus. It’s a book made from the blog posts over at theMinimalists.com, and ass you all probably know by now, i’m a huge fan. Meeting Ryan and Joshua last year is still one of my top 10 moments in a long time, and they have been life changing for me. Still, the book is not the best I’ve read, perhaps because I’ve read most of it before on the blog, or maybe it’s the fact that I get it. I’m not sure you can say the same thing in that many different ways. Still, I’ve highlighted quite a lot in this book (in my Kindle – still love my Kindle by the way) and I’d like to share some of those highlights in my next post. I still like the latest Everything That Remains better though.

Lastly, here’s my latest read that has given me another book hangover.  I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. I know, another YA-fiction, but whatever! The characters in this one, the story, the emotional roller coaster I went on… I’ve been laughing and crying… Yeah, I just don’t know what to say, I gave it five stars out of five, and I so wish I was still a teacher because this is a book I would surely recommend to my teenagers. It’s #38 – A book that made you cry.

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Book Challenge 2015, books and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Six months of Challenge

  1. Pingback: Looking back at the books – Moving forward

Leave a Reply

