Today is hard to be a minimalist!

I  am feeling very inspired to make things right now. I love Pinterest! I get so many ideas on how to up-cycle old things, and they are beautiful and I can make them, I’m sure! But. Being a minimalist – it doesn’t go well with buying old stuff and make them over, because they don’t have a place in my home. I pin ten tings to with old doors, or old picture frames, then I pin ten pictures of tiny houses. You see, it doesn’t go that well together. And I love going to flea markets or garage sales, but I don’t really need anything, which makes it difficult to justify going. And still, this is my outlet. I need to make something to feel good. This is such a weird feeling – not wanting stuff but wanting to buy them anyway. I’m fighting the urge, but today I lost because I bought a small shelf for my daughter’s room and a large picture frame that I want to make “something” of.

I need to compensate, so I will look through my things and see what i can get rid of….

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in create, Minimalism and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Today is hard to be a minimalist!

  1. projectpatrol says:

    I feel the same way! I’m working on a table I’m making into a “vanity” or something, I don’t really know yet, I have no use or space for it! I’m putting money (although very little) into it, but, we’re trying not to spend so yes, you’re so right about the contradictions. I’ll either try to sell it or more than likely I’ll give it to one of my nieces. But, I’d say jump on the inspiration wagon now 🙂

  2. Anne Lene says:

    I hear you! I too have projects I want to do, things I want to make, that I don’t particular need, that might clash a bit with my path towards minimalism… But what the heck, a girl have to have some fun 😉 so I say go for it! And let those creative juices flow… 😉

  3. goddamnedgrateful says:

    I feel your pain. lol.

Leave a Reply

