Toss it!

For a while I’ve been feeling real tired when thinking about clearing out some of the cabinets around the house, because I knew they would all be full of things that are hard to let go of.

Like photos from when nothing was digital. Or when the kids were small and you took fifty pictures of them sleeping. So, so hard to know what to do with all these! And then the boxes with “important papers” (which is truly what I’ve marked the boxes), that aren’t really difficult to let go of, but so boring to sort through! How important is that receipt of the camera that we don’t have anymore, and why didn’t I get rid of it a long time ago?!

Well, it’s sorted out now. Unnecessary paper – gone, photos from my youth that didn’t hold any memories really – gone. And the baby pictures? Well, my kids have one box each with memorabilia, and I came up with this very smart idea to actually put the photos of them in their boxes, and only keep one or two out, to go on the wall. A great feeling having them in one place instead of everywhere!

Also this week we’ve given away 29 movies (/TV-series) and about 20 books. And a bike (that we gave to one of my daughter’s friends who didn’t have one. The look on her face when we said she could have it for free…. Priceless. More worth than money, truly.)

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Minimalism, Simplifying and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Toss it!

  1. projectpatrol says:

    I find the photos both digital and/or printed to be the most overwhelming. The only thing I’ve done is periodically go through them and throw away duplicates or blurry ones.

    • Agree. I just don’t know what to do with them, you can only put so many on the wall…. I threw away MANY that I think others would have kept. But it does feel good πŸ™‚

  2. Wow! I just can’t be strong like that with the photos.
    Getting better with the papers though.
    Melinda

  3. Photos is the worst, and memorabilias… I have this “project” that I’m forever putting off (hopefully I WILL start this winter) to go through all my several thousands photos, sort what I want to keep and scan them to the computer (so that I have them), and then ONLY keep a few of the best ones in physical albums… I want to get to the point with papers and photos that if worst come to shove, all I have to do is grab my harddrive and I have it all with me… But.. I have a long road ahead of me before I’m there 😦

    I am impressed with how well you are doing with your photos… mighty impressed!

Leave a Reply

