C’mon!!!!

Decluttering is NOT the same as organizing! I go insane every time people confuse one with the other!

Speaking of that though, today I started preparing for The Move. I’m trying to get the kids to reflect on what they bring, but I have no desire to make them get rid of everything, just the things they don’t truly love. I’ve already told them that I will ask them the same questions as we unpack in the new place as I do when we pack stuff up here. It’s the same questions I ask myself, and I will take another stab at my stuff again as I unpack, because I’m sure I will have a hard time getting rid of something along the way… “Do I love this?” “Do I need it?” Most things actually is a “no”, but I need to check with my family before some of it goes, because I’m not in this all by myself.

But, some of it will be thrown out while they look the other way…. 😉

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in change, Cleaning, family, home, Minimalism, Simplifying and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to C’mon!!!!

  1. projectpatrol says:

    It is amazing how many times I’ve looked at something the 1st time and think, I want this and the very next time I think, why did I keep this? 🙂

  2. Here from Anne Lene Minimalist Sometimes.
    Ikr??!! Grrrr
    Decluttering is hard!! Organizing seems easier to me, not that I’ve ever done it…
    I live alone, but you wouldn’t think so, from all the grandbaby’s toys!
    They go out regularly, soon as she goes home. The my flea market crazy neighbor gives her more.
    I think I have a revolving front door!
    Melinda

    • Haha! Yes, I was thinking about grandkids the other day – when they come to me they will have to play with sticks and stones 😄 and that will probably seem Stone Age-y because my kids are 10 and 7 now, those grandkids are way in the future (I hope!) 🙂

  3. Let’s hope the grandchildren is a little into the future 😉 At least by then you have had years of decluttering training, and grandchildren stuff should be a no brainer for you 😉

    Like Projectpatrol, I find that it gets easier the second, third or fifth? time around. As I move along my decluttering path, I find that things that survived the cullings earlier might not survive no more… I think it’s like: The more we declutter and the more “air and space” this yields, the more “air and space” we crave, which brings on another declutter round 😉

Leave a Reply

