Thank you for reminding me!

Just the other day I was once again reminded of the journey that I am on and how far I’ve come. It is easy to lose sight of all that has happened since I was introduced to minimalism (through the Minimalists), and to just feel frustration over the fact that sometimes it just takes time to get where you’re going.

I have come to realize that I am not a very patient person; things should happen fast, and they should happen now! Realizing that not everything can be quick has been an epiphany, both in my work-life and at home. When last year was much about shedding stuff, this year has been a lot about what’s happening on the inside. I see that now that I have sort of come out on the other side.

And I appreciate that journey just as much as the physical one. It is very interesting to sit back and analyze why you react the way you react when different things happen to you (or with you). (Or because of you!) I don’t always like the person I am, but I think I am getting there, at least accepting that this is who I am. It is pretty neat being defined by your actions and not by what your job is… 

This blog turns two in a couple of months, and so does my journey of simplifying. I am curious to see where this road will take me, because I do think that once you’ve bought into the whole minimalist way, you can never go back to not being aware of how you live. Isn’t that pretty fantastic – to have your whole life ahead of you, to know that you have found a way of life that fits you, and that you have an interesting journey ahead of you?!

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in change, Gratefulness, Minimalism, Simplifying and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Thank you for reminding me!

  1. I can’t believe it’s almost two years! We’ve come a long way these two years haven’t we?

    I’m like you, last year was “all about the ” stuff.. this year it’s definitely been a lot about what’s going on on the inside… I’m slowly finding my way and there is no doubt I’ll be coming out stronger at the other end 🙂

    Like you, I’m enjoying the ride and can’t wait to see what year three will bring on for us 🙂

  2. We are transitioning from decluttering the stuff to decluttering us. We are looking at so many things differently.

  3. K. M. says:

    “I don’t always like the person I am, but I think I am getting there, at least accepting that this is who I am.” I can relate. So pleased for you that you are consciously on a journey, rather than unconsciously bobbing along, not realizing the wonder and steering the craft that is your life.

Leave a Reply

