Less and more

I am now more than halfway through this month of playing the minsgame. I am starting to struggle a bit to find things to give away or recycle, but most of all I am thinking that this is not minimalism. Getting rid of things should not be my main focus anymore. I’ve done it for almost two years and I am starting to really like my home. I don’t get irritated looking around, I have what I need (and – still – then some), and that’s probably how it will be for as long as I have the kids living at home (which means at least another 15 years, I think).

No, what this experience is giving me is not more space to breathe, but more space to think about what should be next in my life. What can I do to truly add meaning to my life?

Because I won’t lie, my life sometimes feel pretty meaningless. Or perhaps I’m the one who is meaningless. I don’t feel grateful for what I have, and I (most definitely) think that I should. I have wonderful kids, I have a nice husband who I, most of the time, don’t think I deserve, I have friends and family and a home (and a boring job, but still, it’s a job)… Even as I’m writing this down, while acknowledging that I am an (empty and) ungrateful person, I still don’t know what is lacking and how to change it.

Any ideas, anyone?

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Gratefulness, Minimalism, MinsGame, Simplifying and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Less and more

  1. projectpatrol says:

    Wow, my husband and I have talked about this many times. We feel we’re not appreciating what we have knowing many people would really enjoy living the way we do and can’t for whatever reason. He works from home, I have a wonderful part-time job. I’ve most definitely felt useless/meaningless/pointless and have tried to figure out what I’m “missing”. But, at the same time, I feel like I have everything I could ever want and need. So, I apparently do not have any ideas for ya but, I’ll be interested in seeing what others have to say 🙂

    • I feel like I’m disconnected somehow. I used to feel so much all the time and now I don’t and it scares me a bit to feel this stagnant…. Maybe there’s growth waiting on the other side of all this. (Man I sound depressing right now)

      • projectpatrol says:

        I’ve certainly been there too. I guess we just keep chugging along and the fact you’re aware of how you feel is important for that growth to happen, I think.

  2. atkokosplace says:

    I’ve been tossing and donating for a long time too. I want things simple and easy. Less mess to clean etc… Life ebbs and flows, a change can be good. A new hobby- knitting, gardening, walking club, meet new people, get a pet…A new thing you do. Being active helps me. I workout (a lot). I’m alone a lot of the times, so I have to be my own “cheerleader” and make myself stay active and motivated. It can be difficult at times. I keep busy to keep my mind off things that make me sad. The sadness can get overwhelming and that’s when I netflix a comedy. I recommend a change … I hope you find what you need to to feel connected again. Don’t give up! It’s there, you just need to find it. Hugs! Koko❀

    • Thank you for this. I had a talk with my husband yesterday and we both agree we have to do something, this is not what we want, and we spoke a lot about getting out there and do something, get moving. He focuses on the negative parts and he always has, which was okay when I was a dreamer who needed a bit of help to stay at least semi-grounded. But now I feel I don’t have the energy to dram for us both anymore, I need some help. So we talked about that too, because we want to keep at it together, so…. Work need to be done.
      Again, thank you.!

      • atkokosplace says:

        I totally get what you are saying. I’m glad you had a talk. I really wish you well. Hey if you need an ear, just shoot me a message. Take care of yourself and keep on keeping on! Koko:)

  3. Amy says:

    I can really relate to how you feel. I got a lot of benefit from doing the values bullseye exercise (google it and you should be able to find out all about it). Really helps you look at your life 1) clarify what you want 2) see where you are now and 3) see more where you’d like to be. Also I find a very simple gratitude journal/diary a great tool. Just jotting down a couple of things each day that you are grateful for.

    • Thank you for your suggestions. I will look into the bullseye-thing. Looking that closely at your life is a bit scary though, you never know what comes to ones attention….
      A journal is a place to start. I’ve thought about it before, doesn’t hurt to try.

Leave a Reply

