Looking back at the books

I set a goal in 2015 to read 52 books. Because I have a tendency to read the same kind of literature over and over again, mainly young adult fiction and preferably dystopias, I wanted to make it a bit more difficult for myself, otherwise I’d probably read just that kind of books. So I found a list and tried to read books that fit into the categories on it.

Did I reach my goal? Nope. I managed to tick off 36 (out of 50) categories on my list, and in total during 2015 I read 41 books. I’m a slow reader and sometimes I don’t read for weeks on end. Last year I had two major dips in my reading, each lasted five weeks. It’s easy to do the math – if I read about one book a week, I lost ten books on those dips.

The good news in all this is that I read books that I probably wouldn’t have read, hadn’t they been in the categories on my list. For example The Trial by Franz Kafka. I had started it before and started it again (and hated it again), but finished it to be able to tick it off my list. I also hated Four: A Divergent story collection by Veronica Roth, but I finished it anyways. To be honest I usually do finish everything I start to read, just in case it gets better towards the end.

Reading through the list of books I read last year to pick my three favorites, I see a definite pattern. Not that I haven’t read different kinds of books, but… Look at these, my three favorites from last year, in no particular order: Saving Francesca by Melina Marchetta, I’ll give you the sun by Jandy Nelson, and Looking for Alibrandi by Melina Marchetta. Should I be embarrassed by the fact that I am not a 16 year old girl but rather a 37 year old woman? Let’s just say I am a young woman at heart… (And that Marchetta is a new favorite!)

book

Picture borrowed.

Now this year I have a new reading goal. I do have a list that I found, but that list only has 26 books on it. My goal though is to read more than I did during 2015, and so I hope to read 45 books. I think the freedom of not always having to fit my books into a category will make it easier for me to read more, but having the list makes it more of a challenge.

Here’s the list now:

A – a book with an APOCALYPTICAL theme
B – a BEST selling novel
C – a book with a CAT on the cover
D – a DIARY E – a book with an ELEMENT in the title
F – a book you got for FREE
G – a GHOST story
H – a book set in a HOT country
I – a book with an INDUSTRIAL theme
J – a JUNIOR novel
K – a book where noone gets KILLED
L – a book from a LIST
M – a book with a MONTH in the title
N – a book with your NAME in the title
O – a book with an ORANGE cover
P – a POETRY book
Q – a book with a QUESTION in the title
R – a RARE book
S – a SCI-FI book
T – a book with TRAVELLING in it
U – a book with an UNHAPPY ending
V – a VIOLENT book
W – a book with a lot of WATER in it
X – a book whose author has an X in their name
Y – a book by an author YOUNGER than you
Z – a book about ZOMBIES

Plus 19 “free” books.

Good luck to me, and a happy new book year to you all!

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Book Challenge 2015, Book Challenge 2016, books and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Looking back at the books

  1. 41 books in a year is amazing, great job! Good luck in 2016:)

Leave a Reply

