January – my no-buy-month

I decided to not buy anything in January. It’s not because I don’t have the money, because somehow January is always a better financial month than November and December is, so it had nothing to do with saving money. I guess it was just a whim. No eating out at lunch at work, and no buying stuff.

I was feeling like I did well, hadn’t eaten out since I got back from my Christmas vacation (then again, I’ve only been at work for seven days…), and hadn’t bought anything even though I felt like I needed both new seeds for the allotment and a shelf for my son’s room (it’s funny how you need to buy stuff when you can’t, and then when you can, you don’t really need to).

Then yesterday happened. No left over food at home so I only brought some yoghurt to work for lunch, and then my best friend asked if I wanted to meet for lunch. No biggie, I’ll just try and do better for the rest of the month. And then my contacts started to act up and I realized I’ve had this pair for just under three months and that I should probably change them… So, I bought new contacts. And then I remembered that I needed solution for the contacts too. I also panicked because I had to buy new training shoes yesterday. Me and my husband started a course in line dancing last night. Yes, you heard me, line dancing! Since I was so down this holiday, we came to the conclusion that we need to do something together which make us laugh, and what better than to learn how to dance? So, I bought new shoes and off we went. And we had fun! Sure, we felt silly, and sure, everyone was at least 15 years older than us, but we did it together, and it made us laugh and we decided to do it again next week.

It would be so funny to get a sign like this for my husband, who still is in shock from yesterday. The things he does for love!

 

All I can say is that so far my no-buy month is going so-so. But I’m happy, and that’s something!

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in economy, Minimalism and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to January – my no-buy-month

  1. Jess says:

    Maybe there’s a disclaimer in there – “No buy (of frivolous excess things) month”. I mean, feeding yourself, eye health, and line dancing are pretty important things 😉

Leave a Reply

