Marina by Carlos Ruiz Zafón 

I have read three books previous to Marina by Carlos Ruiz Zafón, The Shadow of the Wind and it’s prequels, and I have liked them all well enough. Zafón has a way of writing that makes his books feel mysterious and dark, like something bad is going to happen at any time. I often don’t know wether the endings are good or bad, and I often don’t know if I really liked the book either.   

All the above is also true for Marina. This book is considered to be categorized as YA-fiction, which I didn’t get until now as I was about to write about it. It does make sense though, because it’s much shorter than the other books and the main characters are both teenagers. I didn’t read it as a YA-book though, Zafón’s style of writing doesn’t differ in that way.

Did I like it? It was quick (I read it in 1,5 days) and in this case that’s a bonus because I really wanted to know what’d happen, but it’s not a book that will stay with me forever. 

Marina, 3/5.

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in Book Challenge 2016, books and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

