When the purging is done.

When I started this blog over two years ago, I was very enthusiastic about shedding my belongings. In my first year as a self-proclaimed minimalist, I made some huge changes in my life. My second year has also come with change, both around me and inside me.

I have, once again, moved to a smaller apartment, shedding many of my belongings during that move and after. I have also used much of this year for soul searching, thinking about who I am and what I am supposed to do with my life. I’m not sure I have come up with an answer, but at least I’ve started something on the inside too.

As a minimalist I think that my focus is shifting, from purging and decluttering my life of both things and time consuming activities, as well as people, to wanting to actually enjoy what I have accomplished. I think it’s inevitable to change ones focus from “decluttering” to the actual “living” part, because if you don’t, sooner or later the decluttering is just an obsession. Does that make sense?

I could continue on in this blog, writing about what I have thrown away and why, but I would just be repeating myself, and this blog wouldn’t feel meaningful to me anymore. I don’t have much more to say about that part of my journey, instead it’s time to start living the life I have created for myself and my family.

Being really depressed this holiday season made me think of a quote from my inspirational heroes The Minimalists, about how you can purge all that you have, sit in an empty room, and still be unhappy. The real challenge isn’t getting rid of your things, it’s what you do with all that space, afterwards. And I had lost sight of that, so caught up in shedding that I couldn’t appreciate how far I’d come.

I don’t want this blog to die on me, so this is a heads up – I do want to change it up a bit and the main topic won’t be minimalism and simplifying.

A wordy entry for: things are gonna change.

About thereseastrom

A wife, mother of two, teacher and new, but firm, believer in minimalism. Trying to get all the pieces of the puzzle fit together.
This entry was posted in change, Minimalism, Simplifying, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When the purging is done.

  1. Adventures of Thelma Louise says:

    Do not worry, you are exactly where you should be! You make perfect sense! I wrote a post very similar to this one a few weeks ago. The whole point is to develop a better quality of life. For me, minimalism helped me focus on what I really wanted out of life, and now I’m getting it! All by myself. It’s only natural that as your life changes, so does your blog postings! I redirected my blog entirely to what I’m doing now, instead of focusing just on Minimalism, even changed the name. Minimalism is still a HUGE part of my life, something I will always come back to when I loose my way. Congratulations on your goals that have been reached! Now get out there and find your happy….and don’t forget to share 😉

    • I remember your post, and I think it’s very inspiring, and i am following along on the ride of Thelma Louise too 🙂 I am also thinking about changing the name and layout, just to make a distinkt change. I will share all the happy I find! Thank you!!

      • I like your name – moving forward. That’s exactly what you are still doing. Forward just looks different than it did 2 years ago. We hope to finish our decluttering soon too!

        • Thank you! I liked the name too, it felt like it was exactly right at the time. Now I think I’m kind of … I dunno, floating around, enjoying it all? Is that a good name, Floating Around? 😄 I think I need to think about my direction of the blog in the future before I make my move ☺️
          And YAY for almost reaching your decluttering goal too!

  2. Jess says:

    Really insightful! Good progression into the next step of your minimalist path and incorporating it into “living”. Looking forward to seeing how this next part of the journey comes along (and any physical blog changes) 🙂

  3. I’m with “Adventures of Thelma louise” AND you! I’ve noticing the same changes… I’ve still got a few things to do on my decluttering tasks.. but my main focus is changing as well.. and I’m struggling with should I change my page up or create a new one? (I have an awesome name figured out – well I think it’s awesome 😉 ) It would have been great to have someone like you who are in a similar situation to toss around ideas with..

    I also love your name – moving forward – it is after all what we all are doing, isn’t it? and regardless of what you do with your blog in the future, I still think it’s an apt name. You can still change everything else around even if you keep the name.

    I’m looking forward to what’s next with you… regardless – in me you’ll have a follower for a long time.

    Klem 🙂

Leave a Reply

